Turn It Up To 11!

I am sure we all know that scene in Spinal Tap where the not very bright musician explains how his amps “go to 11.”  I know, that’s so last year.  Well, last year was 2011, and this den mother and DJ had an amazing 2011.  And I got to relive it all at DDPP last Sunday!  My playlist was all songs that stirred memories of 2011 for me.

2011 was a pivotal year for me.  I started the year recovering from knee surgery and in a (not really great) relationship.  I ended the year as a Single Lady, out Dancing With Myself.  It was a Once In A Lifetime year for me.  More than once, I said to myself, “My God, what have I done?”

At times it was tough but it was also exhilarating.  I did things I hadn’t done in years:  going out to concerts and clubs, meeting people, staying out past my bedtime.  This playlist commemorates my 2011.

I chose songs that fit in one of two categories.  I chose some songs about breaking up a relationship and rebuilding my life.  I also chose songs by performers I saw in concert or heard in clubs.  No, I didn’t get a mullet (“I Miss My Mullet”) or have a one night stand (“Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?”), or, thank heavens, get in a car accident (“Warm Leatherette”).  I did see some amazing shows with performers like Peter Murphy, Bryan Ferry of Roxy Music, Ian Hunter of Mott the Hoople, and Blondie.

I included one song in particular because of a show I attended, Southern Culture on the Skids.  The show was on a Friday, not quite a week after I ended my relationship.  I went with none other than Kelley Clink, Den Mother Emeritus Extraordinaire, of Chicago’s DDPP.  I was still rattled over my breakup but I was excited about the show.  I had never heard Southern Culture on the Skids before.  Not once.  The show was great.  I was on my feet dancing, first in the aisle and then on stage with the band, to this song, “Camel Walk.”

Suddenly I was having fun again!  By the time the show was over, I felt like I could do anything.  I went on after that night, doing things on my own, rediscovering myself.

There is another reason I included “Camel Walk” on this playlist. If I hadn’t gone to DDPP and met Kelley, I probably wouldn’t have gone to the show and found out about this great band.  This brings me to another major high point of 2011, becoming a DDPP denmother.  During every class, I am privileged to share songs and memories, from myself and from all the other women.  We dance, we sing, we sweat, we get through whatever is going on in our lives.  Whether I was celebrating or dancing off frustration, DDPP has been there for me.  This includes, not just the experience of dancing and letting loose, but the friendship and support I’ve gotten from the women of DDPP.  I’m so grateful you all were there for me!

If my 2012 is half as much fun as my 2011, then DJ Haus O’Whax will be happy.  Whatever happens, I know I have the amazing women of DDPP to share it with!

8 thoughts on “Turn It Up To 11!

    • Cake or Deth: Awesomeness!!! 3 of the tracks may be hard to find. I can email you MP3’s or make you a CD of the playlist if you want.
      Jill, AKA DJ HOW

Leave a Reply

