Wack Ass Beats

Sometimes us den mothers ask the DJ if there’s anything they want to tell us about their playlist before we start dancing. I personally can almost never come up with anything at all. But our TWO DJs last Wednesday were more than ready with their intro: “We got wack ass beats!” I loved the short, sweet, and sassy endorsement- and while their mix proved to be long on sass as well, it was anything but short and sweet! First-time duo DJ Cookie Jugs and DJ Buttsy Deluxe gave us our first-ever Spotify playlist and left us no choice but to get down n’ dirty for the whooooole hour!

Artist's rendering of our DJs

The dazzling DJ duo showed up what  playlist teamwork can accomplish, and we showed them our fancy footwork AND how to do the humpty dance…maybe…if it involves looking like a horny zombie. You don’t have to ask US twice if we wanna dance! And here’s the playlist that inspired it all:

Brazilian Girls – Don’t Stop
Chromeo – Fancy Footwork
Mayer Hawthorne – No Strings (DJ Jazzy Jeff Roller Boogie Remix)
Ramones – Do You Wanna Dance – Remastered Album Version
Digital Underground – The Humpty Dance
Jamiroquai – Cosmic Girl
Robyn – Dancing On My Own
Missy Elliott – Shake Your Pom Pom
Crystal Waters – 100% Pure Love
Janet Jackson – Rhythm Nation – Single Edit with Pledge
Electric Light Orchestra – Turn To Stone
KC & The Sunshine Band – Boogie Shoes
Marvin Gaye – Got To Give It Up – Album Edit
Toots and the Maytals – Pressure Drop – Original

I know whenever I hear “Shake Your Pom Pom,” I immediately think of one of the greatest movies of all time, “Step Up 2: The Streets.” Duh. And since the dance practice montage that features that very song doesn’t exist on YouTube (trust me, I TRIED), I leave you all with the final dance scene instead:

DJs Cookie Jugs and Buttsy Deluxe, you served us a deluxe helping of mid-week happiness!

2 thoughts on “Wack Ass Beats

  1. Hey DDPP! I was at your Dance Party last Sunday. I write a blog about awesome stuff to do in Chicago. And I thought DDPP was one of the best things I’ve ever been to! So if you want to read my rave review, you can see it at http://jillsblog.me. Thanks for a fantastic time and I hope to come back again lots of times! (Oh, I just posted on beer and bikes this evening, it’s the post prior to that one) Hope you like it

Leave a Reply

