And The Award For Best Soundtrack Goes To…

DJ Chelles Belles!!! Duh. She wowed us on Sunday with her tribute to movies and TV shows. She even made us a handy reference chart to go along with her playlist!

I have to say, I was pretty proud of myself for guessing about half of these on my own during the playlist! And Chelles Belles’ inspiration caused more than enough perspiration on the dance floor (see what I did there?)! She had us jumping like Hugh Grant in the Prime Minister’s mansion, running like we were killing zombies, and twirling like the ballerinas of the (fictitious) American Ballet Company.

Which brings me to my soapbox…people, take  DJ Chelles Belles’ and my advice and watch Center Stage already. It’s pretty much the best bad dance movie EVER. I’m not ashamed to admit that as a high schooler watching it in the theater, I was actually so transported that I forgot where I was and started CLAPPING after the final dance scene. Yeah. ‘Nuff said. And have I mentioned how you should also watch the Step Up movies? (Mostly the 2nd one? Step Up 2: The Streets?) Oh yeah, I totally have before. On this very blog. Because you should. In fact? Why don’t you treat yoself and just take a day off, settle in on the couch, and have a Center Stage/Step Up marathon. Tell your boss the den mothers told you to. And FINALLY, all this talk reminds me that there’s a new Step Up movie coming out this summer!  And I just can’t help but post the trailer:

And with that…I’ll step down from my dance movie soapbox and get back to Chelles Belles!

Not only did this veteran DJ kill me (and many other Parks and Rec fans) with the cool down song once, but she just killed me again! “Mouserat (formerly Scarecrow Boat”?) DJ Chelles Belles,  you are as funny as you are a master playlist-maker. RIP Li’l Sebastian indeed.

And last but not least, I’d be remiss if I didn’t give a shout out to the fact that  Sunday’s session fell on Mother’s Day. One of our dancers brought her mom along and boy, did she ever wipe the dance floor with all of us! That  mom could NOT be stopped. It just goes to show that Mother truly does know best. So happy belated  Mother’s Day to all you moms out there, and also to my fellow den mamas! (We count too!) Next time you’re getting down to one of DJ Chelles Belles’ expert playlists, steal a move or 6 from this hilarious mom-to-be!

Now THAT’S Mother’s Day done the DDPP way!

Leave a Reply

