Chelle’s Belles – Makin’ You Sweat Since 1987

We can always count on veteran dancer and DJ Chelle’s Belles to rock us like a hurricane while shaking loose memories of the 80s and 90s.  Her annual birthday mix tradition is a loose-ish chronological tribute to hit songs since her birth year – 1987 people!  She’s a baby with a rip roarin’, pop inspired heart.

Since I was the ripe old age of nine in 1987, I was filled with hilarious memories surrounding each tune that came blasting from our trusty DDPP P.A. speaker.  I thought I’d take a pictorial trip down memory lane so you can partake in the jolly times we’ve had in pop culture.  Can you handle it??

_________________________________________________________________

We’re just three single guys in our mid-forties stuck with an infant.  One of us banged a random woman who felt it was a good idea to leave her newborn on our doorstep.  We don’t know….its the late 80s where crazy antics happen every day!!

_________________________________________________________________

We’re sexy, good looking, free-spirited spawn of the 80s.  Fork in the road?  Late meeting up with your family on the dock of the bay?  Just dial them up on your 5 pound BRICK and swing by on your speedboat!  It IS 1989 for Pete’s sake!

_________________________________________________________________

Hey guys!  I’m just a boxer with a speech impediment and a sweet ass face tattoo.  I’m a john, I beat up my girlfriends, I chew opponents’ ears off!  It’s the early 90s….so sue me!

_________________________________________________________________

Hey guys!  I’m the first cool president, right?  I play the sexy sax, I promote moderately attractive interns once they do a good JOB at the White House and I eat fast food.  GOD, I miss 1993.

_________________________________________________________________

It wouldn’t be the 90s without a dose of Seinfeld, am I right?  This scene with Elaine and the “Soup Nazi” is priceless!

_________________________________________________________________

A blast from the 80s in the 90s??  The Wedding Singer came out in 1998 along with Alexis Arquette’s priceless perpetual performance of Boy George’s “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me.”  I am a shameless hater of Drew Barrymore yet I can watch this movie over and over without wanting to smack the lips off of her face the whole time.  Kudos Adam Sandler!

_________________________________________________________________

In 2000 I lived in New Jersey and took the NJ Transit and the PATH train to and fro Manhattan every day.  If I wasn’t crocheting a horrible looking “scarf” during my commute, I was nose deep into the first Harry Potter book.  I looked forward to my daily transport from horrible Newark Penn Station to Platform 9 3/4 and Diagon Alley!

_________________________________________________________________

In 2001, Britney Spears wanted to be a grown up SO BAD!  She’s not a girl, not yet a woman, people!  The perfect plan to get the respect she’s been pining for?  Dress like a slutty savage and strap a snake around your shoulders while you do a HORRIBLE job lip syncing to your next hit at the VMAs….. we’ll give you your WOMAN badge now, k?

_________________________________________________________________

If my calculations are right, DJ Chelle’s Belles was heading to prom in 2004…..my guess is she didn’t follow the prom dress “trends” that year which apparently included pregnant belly exposing silk numbers…..or did she??

_________________________________________________________________

I don’t know about you, but in 2006 my world was ROCKED by Jack Bauer in Fox’s 24.  My heart rate would go up just hearing that little beep beep beep at the beginning and end of each segment.  He was invincible, he did extreme stunts, he went ROUGE in every episode, he saved the world multiple times.  He was Jack Bauer.

_________________________________________________________________

2008!!  A signature election year as well as the big comeback to SNL thanks to Tina Fey’s portrayal of Sarah Palin.  Gut bustin’ work, Tina!

_________________________________________________________________

2010 was apparently a big year for celebrity scandals.  Tiger Woods and Sandra Bullock’s husband both had too many girlfriends, Lindsay Lohan was back in the slammer, Paris Hilton couldn’t get anyone else to hold her cocaine for her and the White House let two no name bozos waltz into a presidential soiree!  I remember it like it was two years ago…

_________________________________________________________________

Last but not least – the present day of 2012.  DDPP Chicago  turns five, Den Mothers Unity, Catherine and Amy turn 40, 35 and 30 and we all sweat it up to amazing DJs like Chelle’s Belles.  Amazing job, birthday girl.  Thanks for the bubbles of nostalgia and regret that have resurfaced for all of you fellow dancin’ chicks.  Here’s to 25 more years of memories!!

2 thoughts on “Chelle’s Belles – Makin’ You Sweat Since 1987

Leave a Reply

