Making “fetch” happen.

Maybe it won’t come as a surprise to you guys, but being a den mother means that I attend an awful lot of DDPP sessions. And truly, I love them all. But every once in a while, a DJ shows up with a playlist tailor-made to ensure my heart skips a beat.

How to best explain it to you? Let’s talk in terms of Mean Girls. We all remember Gretchen Weiners, right? The girl who was determined to make “fetch” happen?

Well, that’s how I feel sometimes about music. Whether they’re on my playlist or someone else’s, I develop this affection for certain songs and I just want everyone else to love them as much as I do. By mentioning them on Facebook or playing them while we’re setting up the equipment before class or just high-kicking a wee bit higher every time they’re played, it’s like I’m trying to get these songs to permeate DDPP’s collective unconscious. And it basically NEVER WORKS. Like, seriously, WHY are you not all obsessed with Alphabeat already?!

But then DJ Antonym nonchalantly walked into the studio, iPod in hand. She started the mix off with this sick African pop song (“Vul’indela” by Brenda Fassie) and I just got the feeling that we were in for something special. Over the ensuing sixty minutes, our DJ took us on a tour around the world and, at one point, up in the sky:

She had me doing the Walk of Life so hard I got a stitch in my side and zooming around the room like the titular airplane from OMD’s Enola Gay. That’s right, ladies, new-wave anti-war dance jamz!!!

She also had a room full of women figuring out how to dance to tUnE-yArDs. No easy task, I’ll tell you that for free.

But all of this paled in comparison to what it felt like to hear the opening strains of The Very Best’s “We OK.” I’m pretty sure our DJ was not ready for my reaction, which was basically a lot of spinning in a circle and stomping and waving my hands in the air. OK, maybe she *was* ready, because that’s what a lot of my dancing looks like on a normal day. I’ve been obsessed with this song since this summer and played it for anyone who would listen. Knowing that someone outside my small circle of friends loved dancing to this weirdly triumphant hip hop half sung in Chichewa? Well, I’ll let Gretchen Weiners take it away:

Leave a Reply

