Reasons To Be Cheerful, Part 4: DJ Rapsputin’s Playlist

DJ Rapsputin brought the joy with her most recent playlist. For people having a bad week, she made it better. And even for people having an already good week, she made it extra good. She’s basically Pharrell at this point, that’s how happy she made the room full of women that came out to groove. See for yourself- a recipe for happiness in 17 songs:

Screen shot 2014-08-12 at 9.19.13 PM (1)

 

 

And on a personal note, that night happened to be my (DJ Sex Frosting’s) last night as a DDPP den mother. I’ve been coming to DDPP Chicago since just a few months after it started, thanks to my former roommate/former den mother herself Kristen Studard, and I’ve been a den mother for almost 3 1/2 years now. Kristen can attest to the fact that for the first few months that we went to DDPP together, I quietly busted out tentative dance moves in the corner. And somewhere along the way, I burst out of my self-conscious cocoon and became an unstoppable dance butterfly. I’ll now happily make a fool of myself anytime, anywhere. Hell, I’ve even been in a Kid Sister video and been named official “Dancing Queen” of a friend’s wedding reception. DDPP has helped me dance through breakups, sweat out hangovers, celebrate my birthdays and my wedding, cry it out over friends moving away, make bad days a little better, and was the cherry on top of many a good day.  Words cannot truly express how much this crazy wonderful organization and the friends I have made because of it mean to me. It’s not an exaggeration to say that DDPP changed my life. And even though I’m no longer a den mother, I know it will continue to change my life as a regular attendee. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

